News

Interview UGLY KID JOE

18 January 2018

UGLY KID JOE

Whitfield Crane (vocals) & Klaus Eichstadt (guitar) Saturday 17 June 2017

« We were just kids there, with heavy metal posters on the wall. And all of a sudden, we’re on the poster! »Whitfield Crane

 

How the hell are you guys?

Whitfield: We’re good !

 

You enjoyed your set?

Whitfield: Yeah, perfect!

 

Was it up to your expectations?

Klaus: Far beyond my expectations, actually. I have friends from different bands who played this and they always say it’s like a diamond of a festival. So I was thinking: « I have to play that fucking show! ». We’re friends with some people who work here and they facilitated us coming here and today we’re fortunate to get a nice time slot.

Whitfield: Hellfest is one of the best ones, easy. We’ve been lucky to play some amazing festivals but I think that Hellfest is right up there. The crowd, the venue, the facilities, the crew, the equipment and these huge screens… I didn’t know they were there. It’s pretty amazing! It’s a great one.

 

You’ve been quite busy today, Whitfield. I noticed you even showed up during Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons’ set. You’ve got a real connexion with Motörhead, don’t you? Was it important for you to share a moment on stage with Phil?

Whitfield: Yes! And there’s quite a lot of the Motörhead crew backstage! So there was quite a lot of wonderful people there. We share that common theme of the Motörhead family. It was good to see Phil – I love Phil. He’s a funny man and a talented guy. He’s there, his sons are there, kicking ass. It’s an honour to play with him. It was cool.

 

It’s like you’re part of the Motörhead family. When did the whole story start?

Whitfield: Our first tour was Motörhead, Ugly Kid Joe and Ozzy Osbourne. We toured all summer. And those guys loved us and we loved them. All the old English bands, like Judas Priest, Ozzy, Motörhead, all those bands saw us for what we were – our spirits, anyway. And they looked after us. We were just kids there, with heavy metal posters on the wall. And all of a sudden, we’re on the poster! We were just fans! I’m pretty sure the Motörhead family saw that and appreciated that and wanted to guide it a little bit… As I’ve been told!

 

During the press conference a couple of mins ago, you said: « Motörhead rules! Black Sabbath rules !». But there bands are not active anymore. Is there a band out there with a potential to become the new Motörhead, the new Black Sabbath?

Whitfield: No! Do you?

Klaus: I don’t know…

Whitfield: I don’t know the answer, no…

Klaus: There’s nothing I can think of.

Whitfield: No. Nothing.

 

There’s no hope, then?

Whitfield: I think… First of all: I don’t know anything but I’d say that that style of music and those sounds are the things that touched me. And I think everything’s circular. I feel it is. History is. So you’d hope that some band would step the fuck up and take over. I think that the last band that was really taking over – it was in 1987. Guns N’Roses’ Appetite For Destruction. What else besides that? That was the last band. That was dangerous. What has been since?

 

Festivals are becoming more and more popular and there are plenty of them popping-up. Some people argue that festivals are killing touring as fans tend to keep their cash for festivals only. And some bands focus on festivals and don’t do proper tours because of that. What’s your point of view regarding that issue?

Whitfield: That’s a fair statement. Or you just tour in November because there’s no festivals in November! I don’t think that’s false and I don’t think it’s necessarily true. It’s just an opinion. It’s probably a duality to that. If you are in a band and you get to tour at any level – festivals or club shows – you wanna pack a club, you wanna pack a festival, you want both.

 

Let’s discuss VIP Meet & Greet packages. These packages are common practice in the US but European people don’t always see that with a positive eye. Are they a necessary evil thing?

Whitfield: It’s necessary evil if you want to go and make enough money to get a bus, pay for your crew, get a hotel room on a day off, yeah. Here’s the thing – it’s just factual: no one buys music anymore, no one’s gonna buy it, you’ll never sell any music again, that’s not gonna happen, never. Not on that specific brand of music. Apart from Disney music or American country music, only a couple of bands can still sell some records. Other than that, if you’re out here, trying to make it work, it’s necessarily evil. I wouldn’t agree with it in 1992 but I certainly understand it right now. And it’s an opportunity for the fans to meet the bands, you know. It’s not bad.

Klaus: I would have done it as a kid too! But we didn’t even have that opportunity: watch your favourite band and actually meet them. That’s pretty rad, I mean!

 

What are Ugly Kid Joe’s plans in the weeks to come?

Klaus: Not quite sure. Live, we’ve recorded some stuffs, actually. Is there enough footage…

Whitfield: To make a DVD.

Klaus: DVD? That’s what you said, right?

Whitfield: I said it.

Klaus: DVD. Digital Versatile Disc. Remember that? (laughter) We have quite a lot of live recordings and live video recordings. So we have a means to put something cute together.

 

You were young adults when Ugly Kid Joe’s first album was released. Being older now, are you still 100% at ease with its contents, the lyrics, etc.?

Klaus: Sure! It’s silly sometimes but it’s rad. It was us doing what we did and sometimes you like the young you. We were doing it for the right reasons: writing songs for fun and having fun with it. Sometimes, obviously, you’re like « Oh my god ! ». Like « Goddamn Devil » for example. We were kids who were in heavy metal and we were having fun doing little things like that and people still seem to like it today, you know? Fans do it anyway and we do too. It’s part of life!

 

To finish this, please, finish that sentence for me: « I’ve never told that story before and I probably shouldn’t but… »

Klaus: Oh, my god…

Whitfield: Klaus and I met…

Klaus: At Widow’s Peak…

Whitfield: Under the blood red sun…

Klaus: And a double full moon…

Whitfield: Klaus had a Gibson…

Klaus: SG… And the deal was signed…

Whitfield: And the deal was signed as the full moon looked. Beware!

Klaus: Be careful!

 

Interview : Wombat.

Many thanks to Olivier Garnier & Roger Wessier (Replica).

News

Interview UGLY KID JOE

18 janvier 2018

UGLY KID JOE

Whitfield Crane (chant) & Klaus Eichstadt (guitare) Samedi 17 juin 2017

« Nous n’étions que des gosses, des gosses avec des posters de groupes de heavy metal dans notre chambre. Et tout d’un coup, nous figurions sur un poster ! »Whitfield Crane

 

Comment allez-vous, les gars ?

Whitfield : Nous allons bien !

 

Vous avez apprécié votre set ?

Whitfield : Ouais, c’était parfait !

 

Il a répondu à vos attentes?

Klaus : Bien au-delà de mes attentes, en fait. J’ai des amis au sein de différents groupes qui se sont produits ici et ils m’ont toujours raconté à quel point de festival était un joyau. Je me disais : « Il faut vraiment que je joue là-bas, putain ! ». Nous sommes potes avec des gens qui bossent pour le festival, ce qui a facilité notre venue ici. Et nous sommes heureux d’avoir pu bénéficier d’un créneau sympa.

Whitfield : Le Hellfest est un des meilleurs festivals, facile. Nous avons eu la chance de participer à quelques super festivals mais, clairement, le Hellfest figure tout là-haut. Le public, le cadre, les infrastructures, le personnel, les équipements à disposition, les écrans géants… Je ne m’étais même pas rendu compte de leur présence au début. C’est un super festival.

 

Tu as été plutôt occupé jusque-là, Whitfield. Je t’ai vu rejoindre Phil Campbell & The Bastard Sons sur scène. Il y a une vraie connexion entre toi et Motörhead, non ? C’était important pour toi de passer ce moment sur scène avec Phil ?

Whitfield : Oui ! Et puis il y avait pas mal de roadies de Motörhead derrière la scène ! Donc plein de gens merveilleux présents. Nous avons tous ce dénominateur commun et familial qui est Motörhead. C’était bon de revoir Phil – j’adore Phil. C’est un mec marrant et talentueux. Il est là, avec ses fils, et ils bottent des culs ensemble. C’est un honneur de jouer avec lui. C’était cool.

 

C’est donc comme si tu faisais partie de la famille Motörhead. Comment l’histoire a-t-elle commencé ?

Whitfield : A l’occasion de notre première tournée : Motörhead, Ugly Kid Joe et Ozzy Osbourne. Nous avons tourné tout l’été. Les gars nous adoraient et nous les adorions également. Tous les vieux groupes anglais, comme Judas Priest, Ozzy, Motörhead avaient compris ce que nous étions, du moins, l’esprit qui nous animait. Ils veillaient sur nous. Nous n’étions que des gosses, des gosses avec des posters de groupes de heavy metal dans notre chambre. Et tout d’un coup, nous figurions sur un poster ! Nous étions juste des fans ! Je suis assez sûr que la famille Motörhead a compris ça et l’a apprécié. Et elle a voulu un peu nous servir de guide, d’après ce qu’on m’a dit !

 

Durant la conférence de presse donnée il y a quelques instants, vous avez dit : « Motörhead rules! Black Sabbath rules !». Mais ces groupes ne sont désormais plus actifs. Avez-vous identifié un groupe qui ait le potentiel de devenir le nouveau Motörhead, le nouveau Black Sabbath

Whitfield : Non ! Et toi ?

Klaus : je ne sais pas…

Whitfield : Je ne connais pas la réponse, non…

Klaus : Il n’y a rien qui me vienne à l’esprit

Whitfield : Non. Rien

 

Pas d’espoir donc ?

Whitfield : Je pense que… Tout d’abord : je n’ai pas la science infuse mais je sais que ce style de musique et ce son sont des trucs qui m’ont touchés. Et je pense que tout est cyclique. C’est mon point de vue. L’Histoire est cyclique, par exemple. Bien sûr chacun aimerait qu’un groupe passe à la vitesse supérieure et s’impose. Je pense que le dernier groupe qui y soit parvenu est Guns N’Roses avec Appetite For Destruction en 1987. Qui d’autre est parvenu à le faire ? C’est le dernier groupe à l’avoir fait. Ce groupe était dangereux. Qui l’a vraiment été depuis ?

 

Les festivals sont de plus en plus populaires et poussent comme des champignons. Il y a des voix qui proclament que ces derniers tuent les tournées classiques, le public conservant son argent pour les festivals. Et puis certains groupes se focalisent également sur les festivals et ne tournent plus vraiment en parallèle. Quel est votre point de vue ? Les festivals tuent les tournées ?

Whitfield : Je dirais que c’est juste. Ou alors il faut tourner en novembre car les festivals n’ont pas lieu en novembre ! Je ne pense pas que ce point de vue soit faux mais il n’est pas nécessairement exact : c’est juste une opinion. Il y a une forme de dualité. Quand tu joues dans un groupe et que tu tournes, que tu joues dans des festivals ou des clubs, tu veux juste qu’il y ait du monde dans les deux cas.

 

Parlons d’un autre sujet actuel : les packages VIP Meet & Great. Ces packages sont pratique courante aux States mais les Européens ne les voient pas toujours d’un bon œil. C’est un mal nécessaire ?

Whitfield : C’est un mal nécessaire si tu veux être en mesure de louer un tour bus, de payer ton crew, de réserver une chambre d’hôtel un jour off. Il faut être factuel : plus personne n’achète de musique aujourd’hui, plus personne ne le fera à l’avenir. Il ne sera plus possible de le faire, ça n’arrivera plus. Pas avec ce type de musique. Seuls quelques rares groupes arrivent encore à vendre, voire des trucs de Disney ou de la country américaine. Hormis pour ceux-là, si tu veux que les choses avancent, il faut accepter ce mal nécessaire. Je n’aurais pas été d’accord avec cette pratique en 1992 mais je la comprends bien aujourd’hui, c’est certain. Mais c’est aussi une opportunité pour les fans de rencontrer les groupes, tu sais. Ce n’est pas mauvais.

Klaus : Gamin, je l’aurais fait ! Mais à l’époque nous n’avions même pas cette opportunité : voir ton groupe préféré en concert et pouvoir le rencontrer en plus. Je trouve que c’est génial !

 

Quels sont vos projets pour les semaines à venir ?

Klaus : Je n’en suis pas certain. Nous avons enregistré pas mal de prises live. Et pas mal de prises de vue…

Whitfield : Pour faire un DVD.

Klaus : Un DVD, C’est ce que tu as dit, non ?

Whitfield : Je l’ai dit.

Klaus : DVD. « Digital Versatile Disc ». Tu te souviens de ce truc ? (rire) Nous avons pas mal d’enregistrements live, aussi bien au niveau du son que de l’image donc nous avons les moyen de confectionner un truc mignon.

 

Vous étiez de jeunes adultes quand le premier album d’Ugly Kid Joe est sorti. Etant désormais plus âgés, êtes-vous toujours 100% à l’aise avec le contenu, les paroles, etc. ?

Klaus : Bien-sûr ! C’est un peu crétin des fois mais c’est génial. C’est juste nous à l’époque. Nous faisons ce que nous faisons pour les bonnes raisons : écrite des morceaux pour le fun et s’amuser en le faisant. Evidemment, des fois, tu te dis : “Oh, mon dieu !”. Genre quand tu joues « Goddamn Devil », par exemple. Nous étions juste des gamins branchés par le heavy metal et nous prenions plaisir à faire notre truc. Et les gens semblent toujours l’apprécier aujourd’hui, tu sais ? Les gens aiment bien et nous aussi. C’est une partie de notre vie !

 

Pour finir, je vous laisse terminer cette phrase pour moi : « Je n’ai jamais raconté cette histoire et je ne devrais sans doute pas le faire mais… »

Klaus : Oh, mon dieu…

Whitfield : Klaus et moi nous sommes rencontrés…

Klaus : A Widow’s Peak…

Whitfield : Sous un soleil rouge sang…

Klaus: Et une double pleine lune…

Whitfield : Klaus avait une Gibson…

Klaus : Une SG…Et le pacte fut signé.

Withfield : Et le pacte fut signé, semblable à la pleine lune. Prenez garde !

Klaus : Faites attention !

 

 

Interview : Wombat.

Many thanks to Olivier Garnier & Roger Wessier (Replica).