26 February 2018


Mathew McNerney (vocals) & Juho Vanhanen (guitar)

Paris – Le Point Ephémère – Wednesday November 1st, 2017

“It’s a great festival to go to. You don’t feel like : I don’t belong here” (Mathew McNerney)


How has the tour been so far?

Mathew: It’s good. It’s been really…. I feel like we’ve been really driven, this tour. Like on fire, full of excitement. We’re really stoked about the feeling around the new line-up. I think that’s come through into the live shows.

Juho: For sure, you could still have the feeling of a very fresh line-up and I think that now some things are really starting to look great like, energy-wise on the stage, playing wise and all that so. Basically things are starting to be set on fire.


Was it important for you to start the promotion of the new album (Motherblood) with a headlining tour?

Mathew: Don’t know, really… It’s just the way it worked out this time. I’m not sure that it was really important. I think that at the moment for us, it’s more important that we get out and show what we’re about. We play the new songs, show the new line-up, stuffs like that. We’re happy that we’re playing festivals now where there will be a lot of bigger bands like at Damnation festival. That’s gonna be great for us as well. Both things (club shows and festivals) work but it’s nice to have a headliner show because you get to see your fans, like the people who really care and wanna see you.

Juho: Yeah. And at the same time, you really wanna do also at some point a tour where you can show your tit to people who haven’t seen you before. Both are fine in that case.


The reviews regarding Motherblood are all very good. Were you expecting such a critical acclaim?

Juho: This is something I don’t think so much about until the album is out. Then you’re hitting the reality. Obviously someone is going to review this at some point and we try to do our work as mush good as we can and catch as much fire as we want to. We try to capture that as much as we can and it’s obviously very nice if people have understood what we were after and wanted to deliver. It’s just about delivering something that you wanted to deliver. And then, it’s not up to us after that.

Mathew: We were kind of like the underdogs on this record as well. I didn’t really feel like we… It’s just that it was entirely our thing and us doing this record like we really wanted to do. And I felt that after the last record (Dreamcrash, 2015) things sort of both sides of the fence – internally and externally in the band, had been fractured. With this record, it was kind of like “really don’t give a fuck! Let’s just do it for us”! It was a record that really felt like something that we wanted to do. We talked about it and really wanted to collaborate with Juho on doing music. So that’s kind of how we felt and we just did it. Before the record came out, I was thinking that maybe the reviews will be very harsh, that people won’t get it, won’t like it. But I was also thinking: “but I really don’t care” because I was so happy with the record. That’s a good sign when you feel confident about it.


In a way, could Motherlove be considered as Grave Pleasures’ first album in a way? I mean, Climax (2013) was a proper Beastmilk album and Dreamcrash (2015) was an album from a hybrid creature: Beastmilk becoming Grave Pleasures…

Mathew: Yeah, it feels a bit like that. Like a restart but that’s what we thought about as well a little bit. Maybe on my side a bit more, because it was sort of going back to what it was like I was thinking when I started doing this project. What is it that we want to get out of this rather than thinking about the legacy of the band. When we talked about what our influences were, the primal feeling behind how Beastmilk started, similar to the way this band is coming together. It’s how a real band should do a record. We shouldn’t be worried about recreating the past or living I, someone else’s shoes. I think that this record really stands on its own. I guess it has some things that you can trace back to the Beastmilk thing but I think of that much more in terms of shared inspiration. That’s like we’re drawing from the same wells that we were drawing from for Beastmilk. But it’s a very different record. That’s where the similarity ends I think, for me because it’s very fresh, very new.

Juho: I think that Dreamcrash was like a more romantic album than the Beatmilk (Climax) album. It was definitely something that I wanted to try and incorporate into the songs that colourful kind of romantic drive into the songs rather than just have the total darkness to it. As a result, we have kind of a catchy and danceful album with lots of colours going on in it, different vibes

Mathew: We had a lot of hunger in it in a way, like a lot of energy around this record that was kind of missing with the last one. Loads of things were deflating. The kind of feeling around the band really comes through in a record because artists are just mirrors of their emotions, you know. So the Dreamcrash album became a very dark, a bit of a downer record. Motherblood has much more of a punk rock feeling. We were kind of “OK, everybody has his own opinions about us and we’re gonna do what we want”. Like “fuck everyone else” And I really like that when I hear the record and when we play live: it’s real, there’s a “fuck you” spirit about it.


Despite the dark lyrics, I think that the album is rather uplifting. Do you feel the same way?

Mathew: Yeah! Because I think that the fun is back, you know. A bit of tongue in cheek, a little swagger, a smile: all of those things that we were missing on the last record and that we have again. It’s all about shared emotions. I think that the story of that band is an English guy singing with a bunch of Finnish guys: that’s how it works. With the last record, it was a couple of Swedish people involved and it became kind of an international band… That just didn’t work, you know. That’s what people are picking up know: the band is back at the way it should be working.

Juho: There’s a lot of darkness in Mat’s lyrics and themes and it fits totally. But like you said, it’s uplifting. For me, it’s about some acceptance of dark shit going on but you can enjoy and feel uplifted. There’s some dark shit around the corner, but so what? Let’s party!

Mathew: I remember me and Juho having a conversation when there was a line-up change. Both of us wanted to write music together and it’s like a missed opportunity if you don’t do that. We’ve been through this dark shit and now we don’t have anything to lose. This record is a “nothing to lose” record. And I think that’s uplifting to people who hear musicians who say “we don’t  care – we hae nothing to lose – we give everything”.


The album is only 37 mins long. A short format is something you targeted from the beginning?

Mathew: I love short records. I think it’s very punk. All the best punk albums are short.

Juho: Especially if it’s full of bangers. It’s also nice to have it short because you can put it on again.


I’ve got the digipack version of Motherblood which contains an extra track: “There Are Powers At Work In This World”. Why didn’t that song make the cut in the end?

Mathew: I think because of the kind of format of the record, you know. You want a record to be an experience and it just didn’t with a few more tracks. We could just keep adding and adding but at some point you have to think about the listening experience and we did concentrate on that a lot. It was something we really wanted to focus on, to have a record with kind of a perfect beginning and a perfect ending.

Juho: That track was on the track order until the final minutes. But at some point, you have to kind of think about what is good and right for the album drama curve and think “this is a good song but if we leave it out, the drama curve will be kind of complete. And so sometimes, you have to kill your darlings. But I really like this song.

Mathew: I really enjoy that as an artist: really like just cutting off some of your work so that the minimalism of things becomes more important. I guess it’s tempting when you’re making music to keep adding. A lot of people do that and it becomes… A cake might be really tasty but if you eat a lot of it, it’s gonna make you sick, you known. “There Are Powers…” came as an extra track anyway. Labels love to have these extra things: it’s out there anyway. We have a lot of other songs that didn’t make the album. I really like that as well because I think to myself that you have to prove to yourself that you’re still gonna be able to write songs because if you release everything that you have at one moment I think you would feel like “OK, I’m done, I haven’t any more songs”.

Juho: It’s also a good practice for your ego. To kind of really try and think as a listener of the album. As an artist, it’s always a good challenge to be able to step outside your bubble.


To me, this album is very solid. Will all the songs be given live treatment?

Mathew: I think so. I can’t see any of those tracks not being live tracks, us not playing them. And the reaction to the album has been so strong that we’re finding now on this album that people are enjoying the new songs the most so it’s really nice for us. It gives us extra confidence to think about putting them all in.


The Apocalypse is a theme was you seem to be very fascinated by. What does explain this fascination for the Apocalypse?

Mathew: I was thinking about going to Le Père Lachaise today and I was reading this quote by Jim Morrison and he said something like “If you face your deepest fear, you’re not afraid anymore, you totally free”. It’s like the feeling of freedom when you face the things the thing you fear the most: you can confront it and deal with it and then you’re totally free. That’s to me kind of what rock n’roll is: pure freedom. It’s like that feeling of escapism to the point where you suddenly realise: “I can do what I want – I have this one life and I want to live it now – to live it in the moment”. All the great rock n’roll is about death and destruction, sex and violence, love and romance. It’s all these extremes that take you to that point which is like… To let you know that you’re alive and free. I think that the usage of the apocalypse is like a great archetype, a very iconic way of facing your greatest fear. Somehow, if we were more conscious about it, we might do something about it and change things.


Here’san odd question. Everything is always very meticulously done within Grave Pleasures. So I guess that the use of two very different types of fonts to create the new logo was a real will?

Mathew (laughter) : I’ve been a graphic designer for a very long time now. I worked for some big companies doing that stuff and everything. So I know and I’m trained and educated as a graphic designer. And so I know it’s some kind of a faux-pas but that’s the point of it. To fuck with that rule. Why is there a rule that you have to have one font together? Why do people obey that rule? When you’re in a punk band, you don’t give a fuck. I think it’s cool because it’s a reflexion of what the band means. Two different things: the dark and the light. I really enjoy to see people getting pissed off because it doesn’t look like correct. It’s really funny. It’s wrong but it’s right, you know? That’s what the band is about. There’s a lot of that “in your face” stuff.


You have the privilege to be signed on a solid label. Do you think that for most bands the future could rely on crowdfunding?

Mathew: No… I mean, I’ve tried it with my other band and it works in certain ways. It’s also… I think that a massive portion of what we’re doing anyway is crowdfunding. We’re relying on the crowd, people who buy our merch so that we can stay on the road… No band can survive on fees. Every band survives on their fans. I guess everything is crowdfunding in a way. Basically how you present it. I feel that sometimes crowdfunding works if they’re giving the fans something… We were gonna do it around this album and it just didn’t come together. We were struggling to make sure the fans got something out of it, something more than “give us some money and we’ll give you a t-shirt”, you know? Because you can go to a show and buy the t-shirt. I think there should be some real value for the fans.


You will be back at Hellfest in June. Any memories of playing there in the past?

Juho: I’ve been playing there once with Grave Pleasures when I was still a session member. And then I also played there with my other band Oranssi Pazuzu.

Mathew: The last one was very good actually, with Grave Pleasures. A really cool crowd reaction. We played new songs and some people were loving it. French people get the band a lot more that on other regions. We did very well in France with the last album. I think the Hellfest performance for us was one of those points where it opened up a lot of things for us in France. People saw us there and got it. Maybe it worked in the context of so many styles of bands. So much heavy music and we came on and added something different. The show was really good for us.

Juho: That’s the really good side of Hellfest: it’s a big festival but you still have a pretty big take on a lot of different metal-orientated genres and sub-genres. I couldn’t imagine Hellfest having Jessica93 playing there for example. It’s a pretty open-minded festival in that sense. I think for that reason it worked really well for Grave Pleasures.

Mathew: It’s a great festival to go to. You don’t feel like “I don’t belong here”.

Juho: You don’t have to watch the headliner bands. It’s like everybody is allowed. That’s why the crowd buys the ticket before the line-up is even announced: if they don’t do like the headliners, they know that every other band is great.


What are you expectations regarding Hellfest 2018?

Mathew: I wanna go there and get really, really smashed in the artists tent (laughter)! They also bring Jägermeister stuff! I always envoy meeting people at Hellfest as well: I made friends through other friends there. It’s like a big meet-up and I always enjoy that.

Juho: Yeah, it’s a fun place to combine giving everything you have on the show and also enjoying yourself at the area. It’s a nice place to hang out.

Mathew: I’m really excited about bringing the new record there. I think there’s gonna be a renewed interest and new fans and stuff. Playing it live to that many people is really exciting for us because I think that we are that kind of band that can scale up: we can play small clubs but also do a bigger show. I don’t think that the stage affects us all: I think it will work good.


Interview: Wombat

Many thanks to Ben (Northern Music)

News

GRAVE PLEASURES

26 février 2018

gravepleasures

Mathew McNerney (chant) et Juho Vanhanen (guitare)

Paris – Le Point Ephémère – Mercredi 1er novembre 2017

« Le Hellfest est un super festival à fréquenter. Tu t’y sens dans ton élément » (MathewMcNerney)

 

Comment se passe la journée jusqu’à présent ?

Mathew : Très bien. Nous faisons preuve de beaucoup de détermination sur cette tournée. Nous sommes en fusion et très enthousiastes. L’atmosphère qui entoure le nouveau line-up est vraiment excitante et le phénomène se reflète à l’occasion des concerts.

Juho: La fraîcheur du nouveau line-up se fait ressentir et tu perçois pas mal de trucs qui commencent à super bien rendre, notamment sur scène en termes d’énergie. En gros, le feu commence à bien prendre.

 

Etait-il important de démarrer la promotion de l’album avec une tournée en tête d’affiche ?

Mathew : Je ne sais pas trop… Ça s’est juste monté de la sorte. Je ne pense pas que c’était si important que ça. Ce qui compte pour nous actuellement, c’est de pouvoir jouer ensemble et de montrer ce que nous avons en nous. Nous jouons les nouveaux morceaux, présentons le nouveau line-up, etc. Et puis, nous sommes contents d’avoir l’occasion de jouer dans le cadre de festivals, au côté de plus gros groupes, comme ce sera le cas au Damnation par exemple. Quoi qu’il arrive, c’est toujours appréciable de pouvoir donner des concerts en tête d’affiche car c’est là que tu es au contact de tes fans, des gens qui sont là pour te voir et qui s’intéressent à toi.

Juho : Ouais. En même temps, tu veux prouver ce que tu vaux aux gens qui ne t’auraient jamais vu auparavant. Toutes les occasions sont bonnes pour le faire.

 

Les critiques concernant Motherblood sont très bonnes. Vous attendiez-vous à une telle unanimité ?

Juho: Ce n’est pas un truc auquel je porte trop attention avant la sortie de l’album. Après, tu es rattrapé par la réalité au bout d’un moment car quelqu’un va le chroniquer. Notre but est de faire de notre mieux et de faire preuve d’autant d’inspiration que possible. C’est donc toujours appréciable quand des gens ont compris nos intentions et notre façon de les restituer. Mais il n’y a pas grand-chose que nous puissions faire une fois l’album publié.

Mathew: Nous faisions un peu office d’outsiders avec cet album. Nous avons fait en sorte qu’il soit notre truc à 100% et qu’il reflète complètement ce que nous voulions faire. Avec du recul, on s’aperçoit que l’album précédent (Dreamcrash, 2015) s’inscrivait dans un contexte de fracture, aussi bien en interne au niveau du groupe qu’en externe. Cette fois-ci, l’était d’esprit était “rien à foutre, faisons le pour nous”! Nous avons vraiment ressenti le besoin de faire cet album avec cet état d’esprit. Nous avons discuté ensemble, exprimé notre souhait d’intégrer Juho dans le processus d’écriture et donc procédé ainsi. Avant la parution du disque, je pensais que nous allions être confrontés à des critiques sévères et que les gens n’allaient pas forcément adhérer ou aimer. Mais je me suis aussi dit “je m’en fous” car le disque me plaisait comme tel. Et c’est un bon signe quand tu ressens de la confiance à son sujet.

 

 

D’une certaine façon, Motherblood ne peut-il pas être considéré comme le premier album de Grave Pleasures. Car Climax (2013) était un album de Beastmilk et Dreamcrash (2015), celui d’une créature hybride : Beastmilk en train de devenir Grave Pleasures…

Mathew: C’est un peu ça, oui. C’est une sorte de nouveau départ, c’est ce à quoi nous avons pensé. C’est un peu plus le cas pour moi car il y avait un peu un retour à l’esprit que j’avais en montant Beastmilk. Il s’agit davantage de savoir ce que nous voulons proposer plus que s’intéresser à l’héritage du groupe. Nous ne devons pas nous nous inquiéter à l’idée de recréer le passé ou vivre dans celui-ci. Je pense que cet album vole de de ses propres ailes. Bien évidemment, il contient des éléments que tu peux rattacher à Beastmilk mais il en ressort davantage une inspiration commune. Nous buvons à la même source qu’à l’époque de Beastmilk en quelque sorte. Mais l’album est très différent. La similarité s’arrête là, je pense. Pour moi, c’est très nouveau, très frais.

Juho: Je trouve que Dreamcrash était davantage romantique que l’album de Beastmilk (Climax). Et c’est quelque chose qu’il me semblait important d’incorporer aux morceaux pour apporter de la couleur et une direction romantique plutôt que de rester dans l’obscurité complète. Au final, nous avons un album assez catchy et dansant, très coloré et avec des ambiances variées.

Mathew: Nous avions beaucoup de colère et d’énergie à déverser dans cet album, ce qui avait manqué pour la constitution du précédent où beaucoup de choses s’étaient dégonflées. L’état d’esprit qui règne autour d’un groupe transparaît vraiment dans un album car les artistes ne sont que les miroirs de leurs émotions, tu sais. Dreamcrash était un album très sombre, qui cassait un peu l’ambiance. Motherblood exprime un feeling beaucoup plus punk rock. Nous nous sommes dit : “OK, tout le monde a son propre opinion à notre sujet et nous allons faire en fonction de nos envies”. Genre : “on emmerde tout le monde”. Et j’adore ça quand j’écoute le disque et quand nous le jouons live : il y a vraiment un côté “on vous emmerde” qui s’en dégage.

 

Malgré les paroles sombres, je trouve qu’il se dégage un sentiment plutôt réconfortant. Vous ressentez ça également ?

Mathew : Ouais ! Je pense que c’est parce que le fun est de nouveau de mise. Un touche d’humour, un peu de frime, un sourire : tous ces trucs qui manquaient sur l’album d’avant sont de nouveau présents. C’est une question de partage des émotions. Je pense que l’histoire de ce groupe, c’est un Anglais qui chante avec un groupe de Finlandais : c’est comme ça que ça marche. Sur le disque précédent, il y avait aussi des Suédois impliqués, ça devenait une sorte de groupe international… Ce qui n’a pas fonctionné. Les gens s’y retrouvent aujourd’hui car le groupe est de nouveau tel qu’il doit être.

Juho: Les paroles écrites et les thèmes abordés par Mat sont sombres et s’insèrent parfaitement. Pour moi, c’est une façon d’accepter qu’il existe beaucoup de choses sombres en ce monde mais que cela ne doit pas t’empêcher d’éprouver de la bonne humeur et de profiter de la vie. C’est la merde au coin de la rue et alors ? Faisons quand même la fête !

Mathew: Je me souviens d’une discussion tous les deux avec Juho au moment du changement de line-up. Nous voulions tous les deux écrire de la musique ensemble et il aurait été dommage de manquer une telle opportunité. Nous venions d’éprouver une étape difficile et nous n’avions de fait rien à perdre avec ce disque. Je trouve qu’entendre des musiciens dire « on s’en fout – on n’a rien à perde – on donne tout », c’est assez réconfortant.

 

L’album ne dure que 37 mins. Un format court était un objectif dès le début ?

Mathew: J’adore les albums courts. Je trouve que c’est très punk. Les meilleurs albums de punk sont d’une durée courte.

Juho : Surtout quand c’est plein de morceaux qui envoient. Et un format court, c’est sympa car tu peux te le repasser à la suite.

 

“There Are Powers At Work In This World” figure sur la version digipack mais pas sur la version classique de l’album. Pourquoi ce morceau n’a-t-il pas réussi à atterrir sur l’album ?

Mathew: La raison, c’est le format de l’album. Tu veux que l’album soit une expérience particulière et je trouve que l’ajout de morceaux ne s’y prêtait pas. Au bout d’un moment, tu peux empiler les morceaux mais tu dois te pencher sur le processus d’écoute et nous nous sommes concentrés sur ce point précis. C’est un sujet sur lequel nous avons pris le temps de nous poser, de sorte à obtenir un parfait début et une fin toute aussi parfaite.

Juho : Ce morceau faisait partie des morceaux retenus jusqu’aux dernières minutes. Mais au bout du bout, il te faut juger de ce qui sera  le plus adapté pour la courbe dramatique de l’album et te dire : « c’est un bon morceau mais si nous le laissons de côté, le déroulé sera plus harmonieux ». Quelquefois, il te faut tuer tes bébés. Mais j’aime beaucoup ce morceau.

Mathew: C’est un truc que j’apprécie vraiment en tant qu’artiste : effectuer des coupures dans ton travail pour que le minimalisme permette de faire émerger le plus important. Je devine qu’il est tentant d’offrir plus de matériel quand tu écris de la musique. Beaucoup de musiciens le font et ça peut devenir… Un gâteau peut être succulent mais si tu en manges trop, tu vas finir par être malade. « There Are Powers… » est un bonus track et les labels adorent ces petits extras et il est disponible pour ceux qui le veulent. Beaucoup de morceaux n’ont pas atterri sur l’album. C’est un principe stimulant car il te pousse à te prouver à toi-même que tu es toujours capable d’écrire des chansons. Si tu sors tout ce dont tu disposes au même moment, tu vas te dire « OK, c’est terminé pour moi, je n’ai plus de morceaux ».

Juho : C’est aussi une saine pratique pour l’égo : vraiment essayer en quelque sorte, de raisonner en tant qu’auditeur de l’album. En tant qu’artiste, c’est toujours un challenge que de s’extraire de sa bulle.

 

L’album est très solide. Tous les morceaux feront-ils l’objet d’un traitement live ?

Mathew: Je pense, oui. Je ne vois aucun des morceaux de l’album qui ne puisse pas être joué live. Pour le moment, l’accueil vis-à-vis de l’album est tellement fort que nous avons l’impression que les morceaux que préfèrent les gens sont les nouveaux. C’est vraiment sympa pour nous. Ça nous donne une confiance supplémentaire pour tous les sortir.

 

L’Apocalypse semble être un sujet qui vous passionne. Pourquoi cette fascination ?

Mathew: J’avais pensé me rendre au Père Lachaise aujourd’hui et j’étais en train de lire une citation de Jim Morrison, un truc dans le genre « si tu fais face à ta peur la plus profonde, tu n’as plus peur et tu deviens totalement libre ». C’est le sentiment de liberté que tu ressens quand tu affrontes ce que tu crains le plus au monde : tu peux te mesurer à lui, tu gères la situation puis tu en es libéré. C’est le rock n’roll selon moi : la liberté pure. C’est ce sentiment d’évasion qui te fait soudainement réaliser : « je peux faire ce que je veux – je n’ai qu’une vie et je veux la vivre maintenant – en vivre chaque moment ». Le meilleur rock n’roll traite de mort et de destruction, de sexe et de violence, d’amour et de romance. Ce sont tous ces extrêmes qui t’amènes jusqu’à un certain point… Jusqu’à te faire comprendre que tu es vivant, que tu es libre. Le recours à la thématique de l’apocalypse est un archétype, une façon iconique de combattre ta plus grande peur. Si quelquefois nous en étions plus conscient, peut-être que nous ferions en sorte de faire évoluer les choses.

 

J’ai une question un peu bizarre. Il se trouve que tout est méticuleusement calculé au sein de Grave Pleasures. J’imagine que l’utilisation de deux polices très différentes pour le nouveau logo du groupe est une vraie volonté ?

Mathew (rire) : Je suis graphiste depuis longtemps désormais. J’ai bossé pour de grosses boîtes, je suis formé et ai suivi des études pour exercer. Et je sais donc pertinemment que procéder de la sorte est une forme de faux pas. Et c’est justement le but ! Pour dire merde à cette loi. Pourquoi existerait-il une loi qui imposerait de n’utiliser qu’une police à la fois ? Et pourquoi obéir à cette loi ? Quand tu fais partie d’un groupe de punk, tu n’en as rien à secouer. Je pense que c’est cool en fait car ça reflète ce qu’est le groupe. Deux choses différentes : l’obscurité et la lumière. J’aime voir les gens en colère car ce qu’ils voient ne semble pas correct à leurs yeux. C’est vraiment marrant. C’est pas bien mais c’est bien, tu vois ? Ça correspond bien à notre groupe : beaucoup de pugnacité.

 

Vous avez le privilège d’être signé sur un gros label. Mais pensez-vous que pour beaucoup de groupes, le futur pourrait reposer sur le crowdfunding ?

Mathieu: Non… Enfin, j’ai essayé avec mon autre groupe et ça peut fonctionner d’une certaine façon. Disons qu’une énorme part de ce que nous faisons repose sur du crowdfunding. Nous dépendons du public, les gens achètent notre merch’ pour que nous puissions rester sur les routes… Les groupes ne peuvent pas vivre avec des cachets. Les groupes survivent grâce à leurs fans. Je suppose que tout repose sur le crowdfunding d’une certaine façon, de la façon dont tu présentes la chose. J’ai l’impression que le crowdfunding ne peut fonctionner que si les fans reçoivent vraiment quelque chose en retour… Nous pensions tenter quelque chose avec cet album mais ça n’a pas abouti. Nous avions du mal à trouver une solution pour que les fans puissent se voir proposer autre chose que « donner nous du pognon et vous aurez un t-shirt », tu vois ? Car tu peux aussi aller à un concert et t’acheter le t-shirt. Il faut impérativement que les fans en tirent une vraie valeur.

 

 

Vous revenez jouer au Hellfest en juin. Des souvenirs de précédentes venues ?

Juho: J’y ai joué avec Grave Pleasures quand je n’étais qu’un musicien de session. Mais aussi avec mon autre groupe, Oranssi Pazuzu.

Mathew: Le dernier concert de Grave Pleasures là-bas avait été très bon d’ailleurs. La réaction du public avait été vraiment cool. Nous avions interprété pas mal de nouveaux morceaux qui avaient été bien accueillis. D’une manière générale, nous recevons un bon accueil en France, bien meilleur que dans d’autres régions. Notre album précédent y a été très bien accueilli d’ailleurs et je pense que le concert donné au Hellfest a contribué à nous ouvrir pas mal de portes en France. Les gens nous ont vus et ont compris notre message. Peut-être que le contexte d’une multitude de groupes différents et de se trouver au milieu de groupes plus heavy nous a permis de marquer notre différence. Ce concert a été très positif pour nous.

Juho: C’est vraiment la bon côté du Hellfest : c’est un gros festival mais il y a toujours une large place laissée aux multiples sous-genres de la musique typée metal. Je ne pensais pas qu’un groupe comme Jessica93 puisse y jouer, par exemple. C’est vraiment un festival qui dispose d’une ouverture d’esprit conséquente. C’est sans doute ce qui explique que Grave Pleasures y a été bien accueilli.

Mathew: C’est un super festival à fréquenter. Tu t’y sens dans ton élément.

Juho: Tu n’es pas dans l’obligation de regarder les headliners car il y a de tout pour tout le monde. C’est pour cette raison que le public se rue sur les billets avant même que la programmation soit annoncée : il sait que s’il va peu goûter les headliners, le reste des groupes est juste fantastique.

 

Et quelles sont vos attentes vis-à-vis de cette édition 2018 ?

Mathew: J’ai envie de me mettre bien minable dans l’espace Artistes (rire). Ils y a toujours de la Jägermeister etc. ! J’apprécie toujours de rencontrer des gens au Hellfest : je me suis fait de nouveaux amis grâce à des amis sur place. C’est une sorte de grand rendez-vous que j’ai toujours apprécié.

Juho: Ouais, c’est un endroit fun où tu peux te donner à fond sur les planches mais aussi profiter des lieux. C’est un endroit sympa où passer du bon temps.

Mathew: j’ai vraiment hâte de défendre l’album là-bas. Je pense que l’intérêt pour notre musique sera accru et que nous allons avoir de nouveaux fans. Jouer devant tant de monde va être excitant. Nous sommes un groupe qui est capable de s’adapter au contexte en présence : nous pouvons jouer dans de petits clubs tout comme assurer sur de grosses scènes. La taille de la scène ne nous affecte pas donc je pense que nous allons bien nous en tirer.

 

 

Interview : Wombat

Un grand merci à Ben (Northern Music)